The Neon Boneyard

When I travel I plan things. Although sometimes when I travel I do not plan things, but that is because it is part of the plan. On a recent excursion to Vegas, I was fortunate to not have to do all the planning, and one of the things that was planned was a trip to the Neon Museum, or rather the Neon Boneyard to use the name I prefer.

As a student of desert landscapes and the myriad uses of said landscapes, with special attention to the deserts of Southern Nevada, it is no surprise that I would be enamored by a tour of the last remnants of the original symbols of the modern human footprint on a particular stretch of desert that has become today’s Las Vegas.

Eccentricities of the tour and tour guide aside, or perhaps as well, I definitely recommend the tour, and will return on my next trip to Vegas, but for the night tour.

Here are some highlights of this special part of Vegas history.

NB1


NB Pano

NB4NB2NB3

NB5NB8NB6 NB7NB21NB18

NB9NB14NB11

NB12

NB16

NB13NB17NB20

NB15NB19NB27

NB26NB31NB22

NB23

NB32

NB25  NB33  NB24

NB28

Americana. It really is a thing.

NB Name

Leave a Reply

