Professional crisis of faith, in pictures.

I teach. Or at least, I have until recently, believed myself to be a teacher. Implied in this is the idea that I am also a student, dynamic conditions both.

Lately, what I have been learning has all but made me want to leave the building. Not quite like Elvis.

But kind of.

When I embarked upon my career I hoped to be like this:

Plot1

Or even like this:

welcome-back-kotter1

When I actually started working… way back in 1995… I actually thought I might be like this:

1995_Dangerous_Minds_036-640x335

Not kidding.

Lately I have realized that I am really turning out to be more like this:
“‘C’, ‘D’, ‘F’. ‘F’. ‘F’. For three weeks we have been talking about the Platt Amendment. It was passed in nineteen-hundred and six.”

fast-times-at-ridgemont-high-4

Although, it seems a lot of people really see me like this:

bad-teacher

And I am really afraid I am heading toward this:
“The kids haven’t changed, Dick. You did.”

4732165336_00bbfceb7a_z

And frankly… I am just a little over it all because of this:

teaching jacques burzan

And this:

quote-eugene-debs

Everyone keeps telling me I just need a vacation – which I am fortunate to get. But It is not just that I need a break (I do.)

It is something much bigger than that.

Much.

Bigger.

Leave a Reply

