Well… How did I get here?

You may find yourself living in a shotgun shack
You may find yourself in another part of the world
You may find yourself behind the wheel of a large automobile
You may find yourself in a beautiful house with a beautiful wife
You may ask yourself, well, how did I get here?

I have not published in a month. Many reasons for this [time, fatigue, distraction, WordPress insisting that I pay them for more space over here, work, elections, emotions, you know. Life.] So, now here I am with a new url and everything. Well, not everything.

It was kind of weird setting up a new page, I mean, I get a little attached to things.

You know?

It was a challenge to avoid selecting the exact same layout. I maintained some continuity by using the same header image. I may actually return to the exact same layout. You do what you can. I took a stroll through the old posts. Like I was saying goodbye or something, which is silly because it is not like the old page is going anywhere. But it was strange to actually be able to sort of read about how I actually did get here. It took away some of the mystery inherent in David Byrnne’s rhetorical question. I could see right there, before my eyes, exactly how it all unfolded. Frankly, reality is way more enigmatic than abstract mystery.

Time isn’t holding us, time isn’t after us
Time isn’t holding us, time doesn’t hold you back
Time isn’t holding us, time isn’t after us
Time isn’t holding us…

Who knew?

I revisited myriad interesting choices, diversions, interactions, disappointments, surprises. They seemed a lot less random in hindsight. And less disappointing. No less surprising. And, still, it’s anyone’s guess where this highway leads to.

You know?

In the end the most pressing question may be, why a big suit?

Leave a Reply

