Statistics.

I love statistics. Not the class in college – I did not love that so much, but data makes me super happy. And I understand how easy it is to manipulate data, and therefore statistics… but still… they are so compelling.

Except, I don’t really want to be statistic. Nor do I want my students, who really are my kids (even though I fall into the statistic that represents intentionally childless women between the ages of 40-49) to be statistics. I work really hard to share strategies with them so they can avoid becoming a statistic:

Another student of color who will not graduate from high school.
Another young black male in prison
Another pregnant teenage girl.
Another student shot.

And this was just this past week.

It is a heavy load to bear, even when the end of the year is so near, maybe especially when the end is so near.

 

Leave a Reply

